

Commission on Immigrant and Refugee Affairs

Date: September 27th, 2021 Time: 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm Location: Zoom (Click the following link to join the meeting): <u>https://zoom.us/j/96749278841?pwd=cGJMZTRsbkhKemlsUEgyM0wwRGh4QT09</u> Meeting ID: 967 4927 8841 Passcode: 460504 Call-In Number: (253) 215-8782

I. Call Meeting to Order – Chair Refaei

II. Statement of Purpose – Chair Refaei

We convene this meeting to advance the City of Tacoma's mission to "reducing barriers to access and participation in Tacoma's economic, cultural, and civic life for immigrants and refugees." This Commission aspires to help "make the City more vibrant, inclusive, and welcoming for all."

III. Land Acknowledgment – Interim Vice Chair Saucedo

The Commission acknowledges that the meeting is being conducted on Indigenous lands of the Puyallup People, who cared for their ancestral lands before the Medicine Creek Treaty of 1854 removed native peoples to clear way for colonial settlement. It is important to this Commission as settlers here, aspiring to care for immigrants and refugees in this place and to call it home, that we acknowledge and send gratitude to the Puyallup Tribe of Indians who continue to be leaders for justice in our community today.

IV. Consent Agenda – Chair Refaei

- a. Approval of Meeting Agenda (Aye/Nay Votes)
- b. Approval of August 2021 Meeting Minutes (Aye/Nay Votes)

V. Record of Attendance and Excusal of Absences – Chair Refaei

- \Box Emily Calhoun
- 🗆 Perla Gamboa
- □ Hieu Nguyen
- □ Rafael Saucedo (Interim Vice-Chair)
- 🗆 Lydia Zepeda
- \Box Alma Vargas

- \Box Patricia Flores
- Emani Donaldson
- □ Saiyare Refaei (Chair)
- \Box Sandra Sych (Excused)
- \Box Alma Villegas
- □ Alternate Position (Vacant)

VI. City Staff Updates – Liaison Raeshawna

Commissioners Saiyare Refaei (Chair)

Sandra Sych (Vice Chair) Emily Calhoun Lydia Zepeda Emani Donaldson Alma Villegas Patricia Flores Perla Gamboa Hieu Nguyen Rafael Saucedo Alma Vargas

Agenda

- a. Committees, Boards, & Commissions (CBC) Upcoming Training Opportunity Lucas Smiraldo
- b. Tacoma Area Commission on Disabilities Lucas Smiraldo
- c. Meet and Greets
- d. Afghan Refugee Support Update
- e. Other Relevant Updates: Acknowledgement for 2020 Census
- VII. Group Get-To-Know-You Activity: Interim Vice-Chair Saucedo
 - a. Question: What was your very first job?

VIII. Commission Affairs (60 min)

- a. UW Tacoma Celebrando Comunidad Sponsorship Categories and Public Comment
- b. Welcoming Week Event Debrief
- c. Community, Vitality, and Safety Committee Meeting Debrief
- d. Committee Updates (30 min)
 - Community Safety Committee
 - Governance (of CIRA) Committee
 - Language Access Committee
 - NW Detention Center Committee
- IX. Public Comment
- X. Items for Next Meeting
- XI. Adjourn

Why do we recognize the land?

To recognize the land is an expression of gratitude and appreciation to those whose territory you reside on, and a way of honoring the Indigenous people who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial. It is important to understand the long-standing history that has brought you to reside on the land, and to seek to understand your place within that history. Land acknowledgements do not exist in a past tense, or historical context: colonialism is a current ongoing process, and we need to build our mindfulness of our present participation. It is also worth noting that acknowledging the land is Indigenous protocol. —http://www.lspirg.org/knowtheland



The City of Tacoma does not discriminate on the basis of disability in any of its programs, activities, or services. To request this information in an alternative format or to request a reasonable accommodation, please contact the City Clerk's Office at (253) 591-5505. TTY or speech to speech users please dial 711 to connect to Washington Relay Services.

Commissioners Emily Calhoun Jason Gamboa Jefferson Mok (Chair) Rime Oujdi Saiyare Refaei (Vice-Chair) Sandra Sych

Patricia Flores Perla Gamboa Hieu Nguyen Diana Parra Rafael Saucedo Alma Vargas

NI OTEO

NOTES		

Commissioners Emily Calhoun Jason Gamboa Jefferson Mok (Chair) Rime Oujdi Saiyare Refaei (Vice-Chair) Sandra Sych

Patricia Flores Perla Gamboa Hieu Nguyen Diana Parra Rafael Saucedo Alma Vargas